Monday, November 24, 2014

The Harbor Report: And the boating awards go to

BCYC awards ceremony with Commodore Paul Konapelsky and Lori Everson                   Photo courtesy of
By Len Bose
November 21, 2014 | 12:43 p.m.

Winter has to be approaching, because I just picked up my collection of Christmas Reyn Spooners from the dry cleaners and received the names of award recipients from around the harbor.
Nothing is better than starting the holiday season with your yacht club recognizing your efforts and presenting you with a sought-after award. Each year, I go through all the awards and read the past recipients and pick out the awards that I want to try to win next season.
One award I would really like to get my hands on someday is the Newport Beach High Point Series trophy. Over the last two years, the Richley family has wanted the award more than most, and they took it home again, sailing their Choate 48 Amante in all four of the completed races this season.

Over at the Bahia Corinthian Yacht Club, the Mayol family took home the Commodore Bussey Award for the most active yachting family. Watching the whole family come up to receive the Bussey award is always a priceless moment.
John Szalay, sailing his Peterson 34 PussyCat, took home the Miller Perpetual for the most PHRF awards. Alan Horowitz received the Officers and Directors 1962, the award of merit for outstanding service to the club. I have had my eye on this award for the last couple of years and need to step up my game if I ever hope to get my name engraved on it.
The big award at BCYC is the Elmer Carvey Memorial Scholarship (until 1982 the Balboa Bay Club Yachtsman of the Year), now awarded to the yachtsman who most contributed to the organized yachting community. Past winners of this award have been Cooper Johnson, Jim Emmi, Ted Kerr, Hobie Deny, Lorin Weiss and so many more.
This year's winner is my good friend Peter Haynes. I have never met a person who goes the extra mile for our sport like Haynes does every year. Haynes plays a big part in the Harbor 20 Fleet 1 organization, and without him, BCYC would have a difficult time putting together its club championships. Well done, Pete!
The winners at Balboa Yacht Club this year include Christine Robertson, winning the Pluck Award for volunteering and working hard around the club. Gator Cook took home the Leo V. Collin Perpetual for competing in the Beer Cans, Twilights and Sunkist. This award has always been a favorite of mine and always brings to mind one of my favorite people, Leo Collin. Enjoy the Irish coffees, Gator, because, if I recall, part of the award is all the fixings to make Leo's favorite drink.
The most sought-after award at BYC is the Sportsman of the Year, which dates to 1939 and is given to the racing skipper who consistently displays outstanding sportsmanship. Past winners include Barton Beek, Bill Ficker, Bill Taylor, Dave Ullman and Alex Irving. This year's winner is Tom Purcell, one of the owners of the racing yacht It's OK. Congratulations, Tom, and well deserved.
The extravaganza of all awards ceremonies this year will be the Harbor 20 Fleet 1's "A Night with the Stars" on Dec. 5 at the Newport Harbor Yacht Club. I believe the event has sold out and promises to be one for the record books.
Shana Conzelman, the event's chairwoman, and her team have been working hard. With entertainment by the Fred Zeppelin orchestra, this event will be the stairway to heaven. Knowing Conzelman, it would not surprise me if there were search lights in front of the club that night. I am looking forward to this one and another fast-approaching sailing season.
Remember, on Black Friday I will post Newport Beach's 20 most interesting yachts on
Sea ya.

LEN BOSE is an experienced boater, yacht broker and boating columnist.

No comments: